bdwera.blogg.se

Password protect flash drive mac
Password protect flash drive mac










diskutil – This is the macOS utility that has multiple uses all around the drive, volumes, and file systems.In my example I have a 16GB USB Thumb-drive that I will use for the demonstration.Īs you can see, my USB is in /dev/disk3 Encrypting the Volume First thing to do is to run a utulity that will tell you which drive you are working with. I love the CLI so you will see a lot of macOS articles here on the CLI. If this is a thumb-drive that will be shared (not recommended) you CAN create an encrypted volume within the drive and have half of it encrypted and the other not. I recommend that if you are going to use a thumb-drive for your own use, that you use encryption to protect the contents. There are a couple of ways to encrypt drives and volumes on macOS X.

password protect flash drive mac

Encrypting a USB Thumb-Drive on macOS from CLI and GUI












Password protect flash drive mac